Earn While You Learn!

Earn your degree, diploma, or certificate, an hourly wage, on-the-job experience, and entry into a career path — all at the same time! The Technical College System of Georgia has teamed with the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Apprenticeship to offer students the opportunity to work with Georgia’s manufacturing leaders as registered apprentices. Registered Apprenticeship programs will launch at eight TCSG colleges during the 2016-2017 academic year.

Selected students will be hired as full-time employees and will attend classes on a part-time basis. At the completion of the apprenticeship program, apprentices will be awarded a U.S. DOL certificate of completion that indicates specialized training in a particular occupation.

Program Areas & Occupations

These and other program areas and occupations are offered in conjunction with specific colleges. Please contact participating colleges for more information.

TCSG Programs (Occupations below program)

  • Industrial Systems Technology
    • Industrial Maintenance Technician
    • Mechatronics Technician
  • Machine Tool Technology
    • CNC machine Tool Operator
  • Electrical System Technology
    • Electrical Controls Technician
    • Instrumentation Technician

These and other program areas and occupations are offered in conjunction with specific colleges. Please contact participating colleges for more information.

Participating Colleges

Contact the Registered Apprenticeship coordinator for more information:

  • Athens Technical College
    • Dr. Caroline Angelo – cangelo@athenstech.edu
  • Atlanta Technical College
    • Dr. Ian Toppin – itoppin@atlantatech.edu
  • Augusta Technical College
    • Jonica Mitchell – jmitchell@augustatech.edu
  • Columbus Technical College
    • Dr. Melanie Thornton – mthornton@columbustech.edu
  • Georgia Northwestern Technical College
    • Dr. Mindy McCannon – mmccannon@gntc.edu
  • Lanier Technical College
    • Tim McDonald – tmcdonald@laniertech.edu
  • Savannah Technical College
    • Dr. Ken Boyd – kboyd@savannahtech.edu
  • West Georgia Technical College
    • Dr. Perrin Alford – perrin.alford@westgatech.edu